top of page
  • Writer's pictureobsessedwallflower

Top books I want to read in 2022

Every year, I make a list of all the books I'd love to read soon, and every year I fail. But in 2021, I managed something I never had: I actually read none of them 😅. Seriously, absolutely nothing.

But I'm keeping up the tradition and making myself a new list. All the ones I mentioned last year are still books I'd love to read soon, but I tried to diversify this one a bit so I wouldn't be repeating myself. Let's hope I actually manage to read them!


1) Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë


Last year I read a bunch of classics and had a lot of luck with them, so I want to keep reading the ones I've been interested in for years. Jane Eyre was in my top three list of classics so I picked it up the last time I went to the bookstore, and I really don't want to put it off for as long as I usually do. To be honest, I don't even know what it's about, but I'm trusting the general opinion of the world with this one.


2) Dune, Frank Herbert (Dune #1)


This is one of the most beloved sci-fi's out there but, maybe because it's so huge, it was never actually on my list. Until the movie came out and I got very intrigued by the trailer (plus I watch anything Zendaya 's in) so I caved and got the book, just so I could read it before watching the adaptation. I also don't know much about this one (to be fair, I tend to go into books as blindly as I can) but I've heard great things, really want to read more sci-fi, and I figured this will be as good a place to start as any.


3) The Secret History, Donna Tartt


Look at me go, prioritising three books that are more recent purchases so they don't stay in my TBR for years. I love dark academia and I really want to read probably the most well-known one. I even started this in October but, thanks to my slump, decided to wait until I was in a reading mood again. I'm always looking for dark stories about pretentious people committing crimes so I'm sure I'll pick this one up very soon and see what all the hype is about.


4) The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern


Now I start getting to the books that I've been avoiding for years 😅. I got The Night Circus back in 2019, even started it multiple times, but I've yet to read this book. It's honestly the one that haunts me the most, and I've been including it in my TBRs every year since I got it. I know I'll love it (I really enjoyed the 70 or so pages I read) but, for some reason, I always end up stopping this and picking up something else. I'm really making this year the deadline though because I'm embarrassed about not having read this.


5) The Hero of Ages, Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn #3)


The fact that I haven't gotten to this yet surprises me a lot. But basically, I first read The Final Empire in 2020, loved it so much I immediately ordered the sequels, only for them to get lost in the mail and arrive about six months later. So last year I reread the first book (somehow loved it even more) and jumped straight into The Well of Ascension. However, I was completely disappointed. I don't know what happened in the second book, but it felt like it was written by a different person, and I've since been very scared of reading The Hero of Ages and not loving it as much as I hoped. But I've been in the mood for a Sanderson book for a while now, and I still love this series enough to continue, so this will be the year I do that. I'm just going in with much lower expectations than I would've before.


6) Tower of Dawn and Kingdom of Ash, Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #6 and #7)


These have also made it onto this list quite a few times now, but I'm hopeful 2022 will be the year I finally finish this series. I'm not gonna lie, the fact that Tower of Dawn follows Chaol is what's been putting me off for so long, but I've recently been in the mood for a Sarah J. Maas book so I think it's about time I finish this series. I've dedicated way too many years of my life to Throne of Glass to never find out how it ends, but I will need a refresher on the previous books before I can pick these up.


7) Lord of The Rings, J. R. R. Tolkien


I blame my procrastinating on reading this series entirely on the fact that I wasn't a huge fan of The Hobbit and now I'm scared I'll feel the same when it comes to the trilogy. But I do really want to read them if only to finally be able to watch the movies (yes, I've been avoiding them for basically my whole life). I've also been putting them off because I expect to love them and I'll be very sad if I don't.


So those are all the books I really want to get to this year! In reality, the list is much longer, but based on previous years, even if I only get through these ten it'll be a win. What books do you plan on prioritising in 2022? Let me know in the comments!


Love,

N.


Xx

               Follow Me               

                                           

             Recent Posts            

bottom of page