top of page
  • Writer's pictureobsessedwallflower

Backlist Readathon 2020 | TBR

How we're in March already I do not know, but I decided to take the opportunity of a new month to participate in a readathon. If you've been following my blog you'll know that for the past few months I've been in a reading funk in which I wanna read all the things making it nearly impossible to choose something to read. That is why I decided to participate in the Backlist Readathon, seen as it would be a nice way to choose my next reads based on the prompts, rather than try to figure it out by myself.


The readathon will be happening between the 9th and the 15th of March, in whichever timezone you're in and it's hosted by the lovely Chandler Ainsley as well as some other incredible people. So here are the prompts and the books I chose for them!


(Btw, I always tend to choose a book per prompt to give me options but there's no way I'll read all this in a week – most of them suit two prompts or more just fine)


1) Read your shortest backlist title


The shortest book on my TBR according to Goodreads is The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo. I don't think you need to read her Shadow and Bone trilogy to read this (I've only read Six of Crows) but I'll double check. Either way I believe this will be a nice one to break things up seen as it's a collection of short stories.


2) Read a book on your backlist that intimidates you


For this I'm gonna go with the first Sherlock Holmes novel in The Complete Sherlock Holmes, which is A Study in Scarlet. Sherlock's stories have always intimidated me simply because I never knew where to start (why I bought a huge book with all of them in the first place). Nevertheless I ADORE the BCC series and have been dying to start this since I got it for Christmas. If I fancy I might even read another one, who knows.


3) Read a book from your backlist that someone else recommended to you


I decided to go with The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien even though this could easily go for the previous prompt as well. This is the one book I have in my TBR that wasn't a Booktube recommendation but an actual person recommendation so thought I'd go with this. Also, it's only 300 pages long so it can't be that scary, right??


4) Read a backlist title that you were the most excited about


I thought I'd have read this before the readathon started but it didn't happen, so I'm gonna go with Obsidio, the third and final book in the Illuminae Files, by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I adore this series and cannot wait to see how it all wraps up. I also tend to read them super fast due to the stunning format.


5) Read a diverse backlist title


I was appalled to realise that amongst nearly thirty books the only one I knew for certain was diverse was To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I will say though, I don't think I'll be in the mood to read this so let me know some recommendations because I clearly need them. If I discover that any books I own are diverse I might change this but, seen as I don't generally go into books knowing too much, it might be hard.


6) Read a backlist title with blue on the cover


And lastly I'm gonna go with Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng. I read Little Fires Everywhere and it became one of my favourite books of all time, making me desperate to read Celeste's other book. This is quite short and, if her other book is any indication, a probable page-turner so perfect for a readathon. Also, I'll be reading the ebook which means I could easily read it if out and about.


So that's it! I shall be doing daily updates over on my Instagram stories and maybe Twitter so make sure to follow me to keep up. And if you're participating, let me know what's on your TBR!


Love,

N.


Xx

               Follow Me               

                                           

             Recent Posts            

bottom of page