top of page
  • Writer's pictureobsessedwallflower

Tome Topple Readathon | Round 12 TBR



This year I've realised that, although I am reading a lot more than usual, I'm struggling to choose what to pick up next, so I'm basically participating in any readathon I can find 😂


Jokes aside, the Tome Topple is a classic readathon that I've never been able to participate because, generally, I find out about it way too close to its beginning and never have time to prepare. But not this year! This is the year I finally partake and I'm super excited.


If you want more details about this readathon, you can go to their page right here, but it's essentially two weeks dedicated to reading tomes, i.e. books with over 500 pages. There are nine prompts in total, and you can have each book count towards a maximum two of them. So here are the books I chose and which challenges they count for!


1) The Kingdom of Gods, N. K. Jemisin


You've yet to have a wrap up in which I talk about the Inheritance Trilogy but boy, do I love it. At the time of writing this, I'm still finishing book one but you can be sure I will read book two as soon as I finish and be ready to read book three during the Tome Topple. It's my first N. K. Jemisin book and she's instantly become a favourite. This is definitely the one I am most excited to read and it counts towards the prompt to read a tome written by a black author.


3) The Priory of the Orange Tree, Samantha Shannon


Yes, I'm ashamed that I've included this book in every possible TBR this year and I've yet to read it. As much as I love long books and was adoring the 50 pages I've read, the sheer size of this makes me afraid to pick it up (which makes no sense because, as I said, I love a big book). So what better time to pick it up than a readathon dedicated specifically to BIG BOOKS? Exactly. This counts towards reading a standalone tome and the tome on your TBR with the most pages (it's actually the tome with the second most pages on my TBR, but the first one's a sequel to a book I've yet to read, so can't do that one).


3) City of Lost Souls, Cassandra Clare


This is my token book meaning that, if I don't have the time to pick this up, I have another book on my TBR that can fulfil the prompt to read the tome you've most recently acquired. I got this alongside the Inheritance Trilogy, so it'll be the last one I pick up. Regardless, I'm really looking forward to reading this since, after Clockwork Prince, I'm finally in a Cassandra Clare kick (can I hear an amen?).


4) All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr


This is another book that I'm ashamed by how long it's taking me to pick it up. I chose this for a tome from a genre you don't usually read, since I rarely read historical fiction, even though I tend to love it. I don't really know anything about this one besides the fact that it's set in WWII and apparently it's incredibly beautiful, and that's enough for me.


5) A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin


If you don't think about A Song of Ice and Fire when you think about big books, I don't know how you do it. I feel like this series is the epitome of big books on people's TBRs, I know a lot of people who own them but haven't read them (me included). I got this ages ago because I wanted to read the books before watching the series and, years later, I've watched the whole of the TV series and have yet to read the books. I figured the best way for me to finally read this would be in audiobook, so it'll count towards reading a tome audiobook and to read the tome that has been on your TBR the longest (told you I've had this for ages).


Besides the prompts I've already mentioned, there's one to read one tome and another to read a tome you started during another round of Tome Topple. Because I have never participated before, I can't fulfil the last one, but whichever book I read during these two weeks that's counting towards only one other challenge will count towards reading one tome.


Here's my TBR! It feels like so little for two whole weeks but I do need to remember that all of these books are incredibly long and will take me a long time to get through. Are you participating in the Tome Topple round 12? Let me know what you're planning on reading!


And if you want to keep up with my shenanigans throughout the readathon, make sure to follow me on Instagram and Twitter. Happy reading!


Love,

N.


Xx

0 comments

               Follow Me               

                                           

             Recent Posts            

bottom of page