top of page
  • Writer's pictureobsessedwallflower

Tome Topple Readathon | Round 12 Wrap Up



Yesterday was the end of this round of the Tome Topple readathon, and I did not read nearly as much as I'd hoped. I ended up being way busier than I'd anticipated, and for the first week of the readathon, I felt myself slowing falling into a reading slump (that thankfully didn't settle itself).


I still wanted to talk about the books I read/started and felt like it would be weird to have a TBR but not a wrap up, so here's how my reading went.


1) City of Lost Souls, Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #5)


This was the only book I completed during the week, and it counted towards the challenges of reading 1 tome and reading your most recent tome. This was definitely my favourite of this series so far. I feel like Clary grew up as a character, which was much appreciated, considering she is one of the main reasons why I don't fully enjoy these books. I feel like she's finally starting to act like the heroine of this series and was properly doing things to help with the plot. This was also the first book that made me like Simon as a character, up until this point I just thought he was too annoying for me to care. In true Mortal Instruments style though, I again thought like there are so many unnecessary plot points/characters and I stand by my opinion that this never needed to be a six-book series. Also, apparently the plot of these five books has lasted less than six months and if I think about it too much, it makes me dislike them more, so I decided to not to do that 😂. Seriously though, one of the things I dislike the most is insta-love and this is yet another reason why I couldn't care any less about Clary and Jace's relationship, aka the main selling point of this whole thing. Overall I really enjoyed this one and I'm glad I'm so close to finishing this series now. 4.5/5 ⭐️


The other book I started reading but did not have time to finish was All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr. I've owned this book for going on five years now and I'm not only absolutely thrilled that I finally picked it up, but I'm also so happy to be loving it so much. This is a World War II historical fiction that follows two kids, a girl in Paris and a boy in Germany. I've only read about 200 pages so far but I can't wait to carry on with this, I know it'll hit me right in the feels.


Even though I'm sad about not even reading half of what I'd planned, I'm really happy about what I did read and that it pushed this reading slump away. I also participated in the Instagram challenges (you can see all the photos here) and it got me super inspired to take photos more photos. Did you participate in this round of the Tome Topple readathon? What did you end up reading?


Love,

N.


Xx

0 comments

               Follow Me               

                                           

             Recent Posts            

bottom of page