top of page
  • Writer's pictureobsessedwallflower

Top 10 Books I Want to Read in 2020

Every year I love to make a list of all the books I really want to read that year. It's a mixture of new books and ones that have been on my TBR for ages, and I usually fail to get to all of them. Regardless, I still love to make this list and hope I'll get to them all.


I uploaded a photo a while ago on my Instagram with the top 10 books on my TBR, but I decided to include a few more on my blog and make a separate list for series as well. So this will be all about the standalone books I'd love to read by the end of the year.


1) Wicked, Gregory Maguire


This is probably the main book I'd love to finally read this year, for several reasons. It's been years since I got it (like, 5 or 6 years maybe) because I love the Wicked soundtrack and needed to read the story that inspired it all. Also, I saw the musical last November and adored it SO MUCH that not having read this is getting ridiculous.


2) A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin


Similarly with Wicked, I got this ages ago in the hopes that I would read it before I started watching the show (back between seasons 6 and 7). That never happened and years later I've yet to pick this up. Ideally I would love to get caught up on this series before Winds of Winter came out (hopefully soon) but for now I'm just focusing on the first book.


3) Little Women, Louisa May Alcott


This is a more recent purchase (got the Audiobook just this month) but I've been meaning to pick it up for so long and the new Greta Gerwig movie finally made me pick it up. I'm also currently listening to it because I didn't want to watch the film without having read it.


4) Hindsight, Justin Timberlake


Back in November 2018 right after this book came out my then-boyfriend was in Canada and I told him to go to a Chapters!ndigo and send me photos because I've always wanted to go to one. The first thing I realised after he sent me them was that they had JT's book and, being a fan of his since his *NSYNC days I fangirled. He kindly got it for me but I still haven't picked it up 🙈.


5) Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys


Last year I finally read The Book Thief which I loved so much and served as my introduction to war-centered historical fiction. This then pushed me to want to read the other WWII books I have on my shelves. That said, Ruta Sepetys is an incredibly beloved author and I really want to get into her work.


6) All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr

As well as the above mentioned reasons about reading historical fiction, I've owned this book for so many years it's quite absurd that I haven't read it yet.


7) To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee


Besides being a classic, To Kill a Mockingbird is mentioned as one of the biggest inspirations for my favourite book of all time, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I've also owned it for many many years and should definitely get on with it.


8) The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas


This was part of my most recent book purchase, but one that I needed to read for so long that, right after getting it it went straight to my priority list (spoilers, I've already read it). This book has been so beloved for so long and I'm really glad I finally picked it up.


9) The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle


One of my favourite TV Series of all time is BBC's Sherlock. Ever since watching that I've been wanting to read the Sherlock stories but was always at a loss about where to begin, which is why I got a book that was the whole collection at once. Asked for this for Christmas and can't wait to slowly make my way through this throughout the year.


10) The Priory of the Orange Tree, Samantha Shannon

And lastly I have another recent purchase for me. I got it at the end of last year but have been really pumped to read this and just don't want to let the excitement die down.


So, there's my list. I'll obviously keep you updated as the year goes on and would love to hear about all the books you'd most like to get to this year.


Love,

N.


Xx

               Follow Me               

                                           

             Recent Posts            

bottom of page